KPI

Email conversion rate

A good email conversion rate not only helps you track the success of your email marketing campaign but can also help your business grow. It is one of the most important metrics you should be tracking to improve your email campaigns. But what exactly is email conversion rate, and how can you use it to optimize your email marketing?

Let's break down the definition and show you where to start. 

TRACK YOUR EMAIL CONVERSION RATE

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What is email conversion rate?

Email conversion rate is the percentage of email recipients who take the desired action. This could include a purchase, registration, or subscription to your business’s email list. It can represent anything that you want people to do after they open your emails.

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How to calculate your email conversion rate

To begin, you need to have two pieces of data: The total number of emails you sent (Total Emails Sent) and the total number of conversions you received from those emails (Total Conversions). You can also use the number of unique clicks as an alternative to total conversions. Consult your email service provider if you aren’t sure how many conversions you got from your campaign.

Next, divide Total Conversions by the Total Emails Sent to get your conversion rate. Then, multiply the result by 100 — this gives us the percentage value for our email conversion rate.

For example, if we sent 1,000 emails and received 100 conversions from them, our formula would be: (100 ÷ 1000) * 100 = 10%

Email conversion rate formula

(Total Conversions /Total Emails Sent ) X 100 = Email Conversion Rate

What is a good email conversion rate?

A successful email campaign should have a decent conversion rate. What is a decent conversion rate? This depends on your industry. Conversion rate can be any benchmark like email open rate, email subscribers, number of people who subscribe to your social media, ctr, and more. According to Mailchimp, the average open rate for all industries is around 21.33%. But other benchmarks like click rate are 2.62%.

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What is a bad email conversion rate?

A sign of a bad email marketing conversion rate is when your email campaign results in bad things like a larger than average bounce rate. The best way to determine how you rank email conversion rate-wise is by comparing yourself to the average email conversion rate. This conversion goal is usually between 2% and 3%. If your metrics show a rate below 2%, you might want to start thinking about ways to improve it. Low click-through rates (CTR) from email campaigns mean you’re not getting enough clicks on the links in your emails, which may lead to a lower email conversion rate as well. 

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Email conversion rate KPI examples & templates

Your email conversion rate can be added to our email report template :

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Email report template Email report template

Our email marketing report template has everything you need to get started quickly: it’s pre-built with the standard KPIs you need, and it’s fully customizable so that you can visualize the data you want, the way you want. Track metrics like open rates, unsubscribe rates, click-through rate, and deliverability rate.

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Email conversion rate best practices

In order to optimize your email conversion rate, you need to : 

Bounce rate best practices

step 1 icon Have a good subject line

A good email subject line will ensure your email gets opened, and then it's up to you to provide a great message that makes your reader take action. Closely monitoring deliverability, open rates, and conversion rates will help you learn what is working and what is not.

step 2 icon Focus on A/B Testing

You can improve your conversion rate optimization, and open rates by using A/B testing on your subject lines. For example, send two versions of the same email, with two different subject lines, to two groups of 100 people. If one has a higher open rate, then use that subject line for future emails to other groups. You can also test out different calls-to-action (CTAs) in your emails to see which has a higher click-through rate. Collecting this data will ensure you can interpret your average conversion rate and can optimize your content to get the best return on investment. A/B Testing allows for a marketing strategy where you can opt-in your subscribers to different email content that is specific to the type of email that has the highest chance to lead to good conversion rates.

step 3 icon Have a clear call-to-action

Once the reader has opened your email, this is where your digital marketing efforts shine. Your readers need to know immediately what you want them to do. Make sure you have one single call to action using fonts and other things that are easy to understand and follow (i.e., clicking on a link). If you are an eCommerce business or selling a service, make sure your prices are clear and that the landing page they go to contains the right information. Do not confuse your readers with multiple links and actions that can be taken. Most email platforms will have templates available for whatever demographics you are targeting. 

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